top of page
Search
Writer's pictureCallie King-Stevens

What is it Like to Have Endometriosis: A Day in the Life of an Endometriosis Flareup


I have a family history of endometriosis on my dad's side and doctors have suspected I have the chronic health issue since I was 13. Some days are better than others, but it is something I deal with every day. I decided to take you through what a day looks like when I am having a flare up.


Morning


A graphic with a sun, a bullet blender, medicine and an unmade bed
Starting the morning with pain, protein, and pills

I wake up exhausted. Despite the fact that I got plenty of sleep last night, went to bed on time, and am waking up to my usual alarm getting out of bed seems like it is going to be the hardest thing ever. I snooze my alarm and try to reposition myself in my bed to get some more sleep.


Then I feel it. Every muscle in my body feels sore and my head has a slight pressure both right below my hairline and near the back of my skull. There is no way I am going to be able to get more sleep, but I try to lay down and relax anyway.

My alarm goes off again, and I know I have to get up so I can go to work or class. I turn it off and sit up. I try to stretch to help feel better, but it doesn't really help. The nausea starts to set in. My stomach, back, and legs hurt the most, but nothing feels great. The headache is getting worse as well.


I get ready for the day, trying to pick the comfiest clothes I can, with nothing too tight around my sore and bloated stomach. I likely pull on some high waisted leggings and a sweater or baggy t-shirt.


Despite the nausea I know I need to eat something, so I grab a small breakfast of a piece of toast or a an Orgain protein shake. I finish it quickly and take some ibuprofen noting the time so I can take more in four hours, and make sure my bag is packed with both ibuprofen and acetaminophen. I will alternate between them every two hours if the pain stays consistent.


I finish getting ready and head out the door.


Afternoon


A graphic with a laptop, pill bottle, and soda can
Working through the day with medicine and a soda that helps soothe my stomach

The pain doesn't get better as the day goes on. I sit through work and class feeling nauseated. My stomach is the worst with cramping and my headache is a dull pain that makes it hard to focus.


I try to act normal. I know I am more irritable than normal, but I don't let myself show how bad my pain is. As I am walking across campus with a friend who notes that I am walking a little weird. I shrug it off and say, "I just have pretty bad cramps today." She nods in understanding and attempts to sympathize.


I keep up with my two-hour schedule switching between my OTC pain medications. My focus and patience are both thin, but I stick it out and attend classes, do homework, go to work, etc. I probably buy a sprite or ginger ale to try and help the nausea and keep my stomach from being too empty.


Night


A graphic with the moon, a yoga mat, and a bed with an open book on it
A relaxed night with yoga and going to bed early

I get home for the day and want to crash in bed. I have homework due the next day that I haven't finished though.


I make myself something to eat, the nausea has started to wear off a little. Now I am starving, and craving all things sweet, greasy, and unhealthy. I don't keep much that fits that description in my house though and end up settling with something that can serve as a real meal since it is the first, I have had all day.


I get my heating pad and place it on my stomach hoping it will relieve the cramps and start on my work for the night. I might try a simple yoga practice or a hot bath as well. Nothing really stops them, but I feel good enough to finish my work for the day.


I take the rest of the night easy. I read or watch TV and try to go to bed early. I can't sleep well though due to pain and overheating or feeling too cold (it cycles between the two). I know I will wake up the next morning exhausted again and just help the pain isn't as bad again.

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page